United release Shane Watson, Sam Billings ahead of PSL players’ draft | Sports

Shane Watson, Sam Billings. — Geo News

KARACHI: Islamabad United, the champions of inaugural PSL edition, has released Shane Watson and Sam Billings from the squad ahead of the players’ draft for the third edition of the T20 league.

Players retention and released were finalised on Thursday confirming United’s nine retained players.

Players retained by Islamabad United include Andre Russell, Misbah Ul Haq, Samuel Badree, Mohammad Sami, Rumman Rais, Shadab Khan, Amad Butt and Asif Ali. Batsman Iftikhar Ahmed has also joined United squad after a transfer deal with Peshawar Zalmi.

Islamabad United’s released list includes Shane Watson, Sam Billings, Ben Ducket, Steven Finn and Saeed Ajmal.

An official of the PSL franchise said that it wasn’t an easy decision for them to release players like Watson and Billings.

“We couldn’t keep Watson or Billings because of retention rules. In an ideal world we would have kept them,” said Hassan Cheema of Islamabad United.

“And we aren’t the sort of franchise that relegates its players’ categories because we think every player should receive what they deserve,” he added.

News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *